On Tuesday morning, September 3 at City Hall, the order of candidate names for the upcoming city elections were drawn. Following is the order in which they were drawn.

Candidates for Trinidad city mayor are Robert B. Scidmore and Phil Rico.

Candidates for Trinidad city council are Aaron Williamson, Jay Gonzales, Erin Ogletree, Franklin Shew, and Terry Brown.

On October 8 from 5-10 p.m., the Chamber of Commerce will host “Meet the Candidates” night at the Massari Theater on the TSJC campus. The event is billed as a great way for the public to get to know the candidates and ask any questions.

National Election Day is always held on the first Tuesday following the first Monday in November. This year, 2019, that date is November 5. On this day, citizens across the nation will cast ballots to select public officials — from local to national government. Presidential elections are held every four years, in years divisible by four. Elections to the United States House of Representatives and the United States Senate are held every two years. Local officials can be voted into office any year that is designated by the state.

Each candidate will be featured in upcoming  individual profiles in The Chronicle-News prior to the Nov. 5 election day.

Load comments