Edgar Chenoweth

One of most prestigious honors that Trinidad has to offer is now officially up for grabs, according to the Trinidad & Las Animas County Chamber of Commerce (TLACChamber). Nominations for the 2018 Chenoweth Award are now open, with the deadline for submitting nominations set for Thursday, January 31.

The award is named after the late Judge and longtime U.S. Congressman John Edgar Chenoweth, who served in Congress for 22 years, during the period from 1940 through 1964. His core values of responsibility, respectfulness, caring, giving, positive attitude, trustworthiness, doing one’s best and honesty represented a shining example to his community, and are the same values that will be used to decide the 2018 Chenoweth Award winner. It was first awarded to Judge Chenoweth in 1979.

Each nominee will be asked for biographical information. The submitted nominations will be examined by a committee of previous award winners to determine the committee’s recommendation of finalists for the winner of the 2018 Chenoweth Award. Past winners include community leaders in business, government, nonprofit entities, service clubs, religious institutions, and military leaders. The TLACChamber board of directors will make the final decision on the award winner, whose name will be announced at the banquet. 

The annual Chenoweth Award banquet will be held, beginning with a social hour at 5 p.m., followed by dinner at 6 p.m., and the award presentation at 7:30 p.m. on Saturday February 23 at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites, located at 3130 Santa Fe Trail. Ticket prices are $35 per person or $400 for a corporate table.

Nomination forms are available at the Chamber office located at 136 W. Main St., or by calling the Chamber office at 719-846-9285.

United States Representative John Edgar Chenoweth from Colorado was born in Trinidad, Las Animas County, Colorado on August 17, 189. Chenoweth attended the public and high schools there and afterward the University of Colorado at Boulder. He engaged in railroading and in the mercantile business from 1916-1925.

Chenoweth studied law and was admitted to the bar in 1925 and commenced practice in Trinidad in 1926. He was the assistant district attorney for the third judicial district 1929-1933; county judge of Las Animas County, Colo., 1933-1941; member, Advisory Board of Colorado Women’s College, now Temple Buell; elected as a Republican to the 77th and to the three succeeding Congresses (January 3, 1941-January 3, 1949).

Chenoweth was a unsuccessful candidate for reelection in 1948 to the 81st Congress; elected to the 82nd and to the six succeeding Congresses (January 3, 1951-January 3, 1965. He was an unsuccessful candidate for reelection in 1964 to the 89th Congress. After his political career ended, Chenoweth resumed the practice of law and was a resident of Trinidad until his death there on January 2, 1986. Chenoweth is buried in the Odd Fellows Cemetery.

Past Chenoweth Award recipients

2017: Cy Michaels

2016: Jay Cimino

2015: Laura DeBella

2014: Ed, Karen & Kathleen Greigo Family


2012: Tom Perry

2011: Howard Lackey

2010: Phyllis Moniot

2009: Sam Madrid & Kay Garlutzo

2008: Eugene Aiello

2007: Jack Bearden

2006: Roberta Cordova

2005: James “Chico” Martinez (posthumously)

2004: Captain Mel Williamson

2003: Mayor Joseph Reorda

2002: Lou Girodo

2001: Linda Barron

2000: Gertrude Brunelli

1999: Sister Isabella Glenn

1998: Stan Barron

1997: Harry R. Sayre

1996: Willard Louden

1995: Joe Garbo

1994: Floyd Hill

1993: John Tarabino


1992: Ruth Henritze

1990: Golden K Kiwanis Club

1989: Richard Louden

1988: Shaker Azar

1987: Glenn Aultman

1986: Marj Marty

1985: Bea Sanders

1984: George Hadad

1983: Ed Howard

1982: Tom Cimino

1981: Sister Augusta Zimmer

1980: Mae Barker

1979: Judge J. Edgar Chenoweth

Committee of past winners set to determine finalists

Load comments