Scott Award

The George W. Scott Award is presented to the Trinidad State athlete, or athletes who have participated in one or more major sports over three consecutive semesters and have the highest scholastic record of all athletes over that same period. This year Trinidad State had a record seven student-athletes earn the prestigious award. The 2020 award winners were Jessica Arellano, Mary Baldwin, Jocelyn Charlesworth, Hayley Leatherwood, Reina Sotelo, Jade Glasser and Ashlee Minne.

“We had a great group of students at TSJC the past two years, who worked very hard to achieve success on and off the field,” commented Athletic Director Mike Salbato. “These seven ladies topped the list, managing to compete at a high level in their sport and still hold onto a perfect 4.0 GPA. They are all high achievers who have amazing futures in front of them.”

Jessica Arellano was a member of the Softball and Cross Country teams. “I recall the first time I met Jess when she was only a junior in high school and attended a softball camp I held,” head softball coach Steve Swazo said.  “At that time she was planning on going straight into the military after high school. I’m really glad that she chose to attend Trinidad State because not only did she excel here academically but her dedication and commitment in the classroom and on the softball field earned her a scholarship to Missouri Valley College. Jess was always one of my student-athletes that said getting this award was one of her goals. I’m glad she attained that goal.”

Mary Baldwin competed in both Cross Country and Track at Trinidad State. “Mary is an extremely impressive student-athlete,” according to Salbato. “She competed at a national level on the track all year round and still managed to hold a perfect GPA while taking Nursing classes. Nursing is an extremely difficult path, especially with long clinical hours, but Mary managed it all with ease. She is also our first Scott award winner from the Valley Campus. We are very proud of her.”

Jocelyn Charlesworth was a captain and setter on the Volleyball team. “What can I say about this amazing human being,” commented former Trojan coach Melissa Hardman. “She is the type of kid that is a coach’s dream. She shows up, works hard, and pushes herself day in and day out. Not just on the court, but also in the classroom. Jocelyn is a leader and has the type of work ethic you hope everyone will aspire to have. She is what a TSJC Trojan athlete should look like!”

Hayley Leatherwood, Reina Sotelo, Jade Glasser and Ashlee Minne were all members of the Lady Trojan soccer squad. “I am very proud of what these student-athletes accomplished during their careers at Trinidad State,” praised Coach Peter Freeman. “They represented the women’s soccer program to the highest academic standard, and I couldn’t be prouder of their hard work and dedication.”

TSJC’s George W. Scott award is named for long-time Coach and Administrator George W. Scott, who led Trojan athletics in the 1930s. The Scott Gym on the Trinidad State campus also bears his name.

Load comments